How To Block A Troublesome Facebook Friend

Please Share This Post Using Buttons Below...

facebookThe social media, especially Facebook, is really an interesting platform to socialise. You meet all sorts of people – nice, friendly, inspiring, eventual business pals and even marriage materials. On the flip side, you also come across abusive, arrogant, fraudulent and very annoying people. And sometimes you have them as friends.

Sometimes, it gets to an extent where you feel like parting ways with such “friends” completely. A number of times I have stumbled on friends raining curses on some so-called friends 🙂 You don’t need to do all that. All you need to do is to simply disconnect yourself from such troublesome “friends” by blocking them. When you do this, the person will not be notified.

What happens when you block a friend?
When you block such friends, the following happens:
– They will no longer see things you post on your profile
– They will no longer be able to tag you
– They will no longer be able to invite you to events or groups
– They will no longer be able to start a conversation with you
– They will no longer be able to add you as a friend

Similarly, you will not be able to do all the things above. Also note that your group interactions are not affected here.

How do you block them?
Step 1 – Open the timeline of the person and on your PC or laptop, click on the … tab on the top right of your screen (within your cover picture window – after the message tab). Or, on a mobile device, click on the ‏three dot (vertical) tab under the cover picture of the person.
Step 2 – Click on block, and a window will pop up telling you what follows the blocking
Step 3 – Click on Confirm. That’s it.

How to unblock a blocked person?
Step 1 – Using a laptop or PC,  open your home page or timeline and click on the  icon on the top right. Or, on a mobile device, open your timeline and click on the three dot (vertical) tab under the cover picture. From here, click on View Privacy Shortcuts
Step 2 – Click on How do I stop someone from bothering me?
Step 3 – Click on View All Blocked Users
Step 4 – Click on Unblock in front of the person you want to unblock

That’s it. Note that this does not make you friends immediately. You have to send a friend request to the person again.  

Like I told a friend who does not want to join Facebook because of how some users have chosen to use the platform, Facebook has a lot of settings in place to enable us determine who we interact with and to be able to take control our accounts.

I hope this post was useful. Please share it with your friends on Facebook.

Cheers 🙂

Image courtesy of iamharin at FreeDigitalPhotos.net

 

 

Please Share This Post Using Buttons Below...

Michael M.

INFOPLAZE.COM seeks to be a provider of very useful, family-friendly and ever-green tips and info on education, business, ICT, Inspiration, family and relationship matters, living and life style and much more. If you liked what you read, please share it (them). You can get updates on this blog by filling out the subscription form at the bottom of this page, by following @Infoplaze on Twitter and by liking @Infoplaze on Facebook. Cheers.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *